Moving On

Some of you already know but due to circumstances beyond my control or anyone else’s my tenure with the Rainbow Project will come to an end on September 8th.

No I wasn’t fired nor did I finally pluck up the courage to tell John O’Doherty that he can’t sing (He can but it doesn’t mean he should).

Funding decisions beyond our control mean that I’ll be moving on. No hard feelings and no regrets. It has been the greatest privilege and honour of my life to work for the Rainbow Project, an organisation that very literally saved my life. To work with the team and to contribute to that work has been life changing and I can only hope that I made a difference in some small way to people’s lives for the better.

I have had the opportunity to work on the equal marriage campaign in a very real and tangible way, which is something very few people can ever say. To have had the experiences, go to the places and meet the amazing people I’ve met and the friends I’ve made is a gift that I can never repay.

Thank you to John, Gavin and the whole Rainbow, Here NI and Cara Friend family for welcoming me, supporting me and giving me a chance. Thank you to John and Gavin and Nuala and the whole team for fighting for me and for being there through what has been a year of emotional ups and downs. Thank you so much to my wonderful volunteers that have made this job a delight and not just a paycheck. I will really miss you all very much.

Nothing sucks more than being made to leave behind something you really love doing. But such is life. I am proud of the work that I have done, I am proud of the people I have worked with. In the immortal words of the Tenth Doctor, “I don’t wanna go.” but to paraphrase a famous politician from this island, I’m not going away ya know.

Onwards and upwards.

Leave a Reply

